105th Anniversary of the modern Belarusian diplomatic service


The year 2024 marks the 105th Anniversary of a Modern Belarusian Diplomatic Service.

The starting point of our institution’s modern history coincides with the very first mentioning of the Commissariat for Foreign Affairs of the Soviet Socialist Republic of Belorussia (SFA SSRB) in press. A short article was published in the newspaper “Zvyazda” on January 22, 1919, which stated that “the Commissariat for Foreign Affairs started functioning” and was located in Minsk, Koydanovskaya str., 21 (nowadays – Revolutsyonnaya str., 15).

According to archive documents, a small, consisting of 12 people, diplomatic service was headed by a member of the Provisional Workers-Peasants Soviet Government of the Belarusian Republic, Commissioner for Foreign Affairs, Vsevolod Falsky.

The first diplomatic mission of the young Belarusian Soviet State was opened in Moscow on March 24, 1921. The plenipotentiary representation of the SSRB in the RSFSR was a part of the diplomatic corps, enjoyed immunities and privileges, maintained official contacts with the People’s Commissariat for Foreign Affairs of the RSFSR and diplomatic missions in Moscow. A number of documents from that period are on display today at the History Centre of the Belarusian Foreign Ministry.

Current and future employees of the Foreign Ministry of the BSSR made their contribution to the Victory over fascism. More than 90 veterans of the Great Patriotic War are among the veterans of the Belarusian diplomatic service.

The following important historical milestones in the development of Belarusian diplomacy are the reestablishment of the People's Commissariat of Foreign Affairs of the BSSR in 1944 and then the establishment of the BSSR Foreign Ministry on its basis in 1946.

The world community recognized the BSSR contribution to the defeat of Nazi Germany: the Belarusian SSR became one of the founders of the United Nations Organization and signed the UN Charter in 1945. BSSR missions to the UN were opened in New York, as well as to the international organizations in Vienna, Paris and Geneva. 

Nowadays the Republic of Belarus has established diplomatic relations with 183 states and is currently represented abroad by 70 foreign missions, including: 56 Embassies, 2 Permanent Missions, 11 Consulates General
and 1 Consulate.

A lot has certainly changed in the world in 105 years, but the main tasks of the Belarusian diplomatic service have remained unchanged – namely. protection of the national sovereignty and independence of our country, upholding the national interests and legitimate rights of the state, preventing its discrimination in the international arena, ensuring sustainable foreign economic development and promoting, together with like-minded nations, the principles of a just world order.

For 105 years, the Belarusian diplomatic service has been known and shown on a daily basis its commitment to the principles of peace, creation and development.

Print version

Belarusian Diplomatic Missions

All Missions Belarus' Foreign Ministry
Go to